Skip to main content

Teenage Wildlife: 25 Years of Ash


Release details

  • Label: The Echo Label Limited
  • Catalogue number: BMGCAT425T
  • Formats: 2x CD, 3x CD, 2x LP, Digital
  • Charts: UK: 26. Ireland: 14. UK Indie: 1. Ireland Indie: 1


Teenage Wildlife: 25 Years of Ash is the bands third Best Of compilation and was released to celebrate 25 years of the band. The collection was specially compiled by the band themselves and features remastered versions of some classic songs. The collection shares its title with the classic David Bowie track as well as the documentary which depicted Ash’s rise from local school heroes to all-conquering band that topped the charts with their debut album 1977.

It was available in 2x CD, 3x CD and 2x LP versions. The 3x CD edition includes a third disc titled “Cosmic Debris Volume 2” which collects 19 B-sides from the bands career. Limited edition lenticular versions of the 2x LP and 3x CD were also available where the cover tilts from a 1995 shot of the band to a similar shot taken in 2019. The inner sleeve features the Teenage Wildlife tour documentary script by the late Steven Wells.

Teenage Wildlife: 25 Years of Ash includes one brand new song exclusive to this release “Darkest Hour of the Night”. It also marks the first official physical release of “New Tattoo” which was originally only available as a digital download on the iTunes deluxe edition of Twilight of the Innocents. While “Chinese New Year”, “Comet Tempel 1”, and “Devil’s Haircut” appear digitally for the first time having only ever been available on vinyl releases previously.