Skip to main content


  1. Meltdown
  2. Orpheus
  3. Evil Eye
  4. Clones
  5. Starcrossed
  6. Out of the Blue
  7. Renegade Cavalcade
  8. Detonator
  9. On a Wave
  10. Won’t Be Saved
  11. Vampire Love

Alternative versions

Meltdown Live - UK Limited Edition

This limited edition two disc version of the album comes with the standard album on disc one and “Meltdown Live” on disc two. This live CD was recorded on the “Clones” UK tour in February 2004.

  1. Meltdown (Live)
  2. Orpheus (Live)
  3. A Life Less Ordinary (Live)
  4. Evil Eye (Live)
  5. Clones (Live)
  6. Starcrossed (Live)
  7. Out of the Blue (Live)
  8. Renegade Cavalcade (Live)
  9. Detonator (Live)
  10. On a Wave (Live)
  11. Won’t Be Saved (Live)
  12. Vampire Love (Live)
  13. Darkside Lightside (Live)
  14. Burn Baby Burn (Live)

Japanese Edition

The Japanese version of the album was released on May 12, 2004, it contains the original eleven track album on disc one plus two bonus tracks, disc two contains 17 live tracks recorded on the bands UK Clones tour in February 2004.

Disc 1 bonus tracks

  1. Tinseltown
  2. Everybody’s Happy Nowadays

Disc 2 - “Meltdown Live”

  1. Girl From Mars (Live)
  2. Meltdown (Live)
  3. Orpheus (Live)
  4. A Life Less Ordinary (Live)
  5. Evil Eye (Live)
  6. Clones (Live)
  7. Walking Barefoot (Live)
  8. Starcrossed (Live)
  9. Out of the Blue (Live)
  10. Renegade Cavalcade (Live)
  11. Detonator (Live)
  12. On a Wave (Live)
  13. Won’t Be Saved (Live)
  14. Vampire Love (Live)
  15. Darkside Lightside (Live)
  16. Projects (Live)
  17. Burn Baby Burn (Live)

US Edition

The US version of “Meltdown” was released on March 8th, 2005 on the Record collection label. It contains the original eleven track album plus three bonus tracks, it also comes with a bonus DVD of videos and documentaries. It also featured slightly different artwork.

Disc 1 bonus tracks

  1. Shockwave
  2. Solace
  3. Cool It Down

Bonus DVD

  1. Girl From Mars (Video)
  2. Clones (Video)
  3. Orpheus (Video)
  4. Starcrossed (Video)
  5. Renegade Cavalcade (Video)
  6. Mini Documentary
  7. Making of “Orpheus” video

Release details

  • Label: Infectious Records
  • Catalogue number: 5050467319721
  • Formats: CD, 2xCD, 12” vinyl, 12” black & orange splatter vinyl (2022 re-issue), Digital
  • Charts: UK: 5
  • Producer: Nick Raskulinecz
  • Recorded: Sound City Studios & Chalice Studios


The band recorded the album in America in the same studio Nirvana recorded their Nevermind album. The album was produced by the band themselves and Foo Fighters/Queens of the Stone Age producer Nick Raskulinecz. The album is dedicated to the memory and bravery of Simon J Brown (1982-2003).

JT LeRoy wrote the liner notes for ‘Meltdown’ who was later revealed to be a hoax. Tim Wheeler talking to NME in November, 2019 explained how it came about.

“I’d been emailing JT LeRoy while we toured America in the year leading up to that album. When they visited the studio, I thought there was definitely something weird going on with that quirky group of people! The one masquerading as JT LeRoy was quiet and strange, but the one who was really behind things [Laura Albert] was really high-energy and crazy. We played a song and she jumped up onto the couch and started dancing really hard! It’s cool to have liner notes written by someone who didn’t actually exist.”

On November 11th, 2022 the band remastered and re-issued the album on limited edition black and orange splatter vinyl.